top of page

Snapshots of Home

You guys may remember that in my last post, I mentioned growing up on a farm.

Yeah, that. I've always considered it to be a reasonably unphotogenic lifestyle, and consequently never really put too much thought into taking my camera out of its bag.

That is, until I moved to Sydney. People here are fascinated by the farm life.

I can't believe the number of times my friends have said, "Oh my GOD, do you have cows?!"

Yes. Yes we do.

We also have dogs, chooks, sheep, crops, pigs and the occasional wild visitor. We legit farmers.

And although I can't help but laugh when my city friends treat the concept of a farm as completely alien, I have to be grateful for how that has changed my perspective when I go home to visit. Now I look at my home through a citysider's eyes- curious and amazed. The stars at night are unbelievable. The animals do strange and funny things all the time- like Panda, the puppy who loves hunting grasshoppers.

I'm still not sure if I'd call the farm photogenic- but it's sure worth a snap.

So this is my challenge to you, friends: find something extraordinary about your home- something you usually take for granted. Take some photos of it, enjoy it, and be proud of the wonderful, unique places you come from.

Tag your images with #dodgeandburnproject for a chance to be featured on our instagram!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page